HORAL

HORAL or the High Council for Artisanal Lambic Beers brings together the traditional producers of lambic beer based in the Pajottenland region and the Senne valley. Eleven brewers and blenders from the Pajottenland and the Senne valley are members of HORAL.

Founded in 1997, this umbrella organisation promotes artisanal lambic beers and their derivatives, paying special attention to the entire process from brewing to serving. HORAL is committed to protecting craft lambic beers and reports and denounces irregularities with regard to artisanal lambic beers.

It was partly on the initiative of HORAL that the Visitor Centre ‘De Lambiek’ in Alsemberg came about. HORAL also organises the two-yearly beer event the 'Geuze Tour', a day on which the various members open their doors to the general public. Yet another initiative by HORAL is the annual Lambic Award, which is given to an individual who served the traditional lambic industry in an extraordinary way, thus promoting and defending the industry's interests. Since 2011 there have already been five laureates, from both Belgium and abroad.  

The Lambic Academy is also an initiative by HORAL, aimed at offering professionals from the catering business the opportunity to improve their knowledge of lambic beers. Sessions are both in Dutch and in English.

More information about HORAL can be found on their website.

HORAL

Le HORAL, le conseil supérieur des bières lambic artisanales, regroupe les producteur de bières lambic artisanales du Pajottenland et de la vallée de la Senne.  Le HORAL compte comme membres onze brasseurs et distillateurs du Pajottenland et de la vallée de la Senne.

Fondée en 1997, la confédération promeut les bières lambic artisanales et les produits dérivés et accorde une grande attention à l'ensemble du processus, du brassage au service. Le HORAL s'engage dans la protection des bières lambic artisanales. Les irrégularités portant sur les bières lambic artisanales sont signalées par le HORAL.

Le centre de visiteurs 'De Lambiek' d'Alsemberg doit notamment son existence à l'initiative du HORAL. L’événement brassicole bisannuel 'Toer de Geuze', qui voit différents membres ouvrir leurs portes au public, est majoritairement organisé par le HORAL. Une autre initiative à porter au crédit du HORAL est le Lambic Award annuel, qui récompense une personne qui s'est particulièrement distinguée dans la promotion et la défense des intérêts du secteur des bières lambic traditionnelles. Depuis 2011, cinq personnes, belges comme étrangères, ont déjà été récompensées.

La Lambic Academy relève également du HORAL. La Lambic Academy a pour vocation de faire connaître les bières lambics aux professionnels de l'horeca. Les sessions se déroulent en néerlandais et en anglais.

Vous trouverez davantage d'informations sur le HORAL sur son site web.